top of page

Blogs are about real life

When diabetes goes well; all goes well. When it doesn't; it doesn't...

  • Writer's pictureMaggie

Refill Meds? I’m Too Busy!

Updated: Sep 7, 2018


I was feeling great and I’m a busy woman.


I had tons of important things to do. I couldn’t be bothered going through the hassle of refilling everything. I’ll get to it eventually when these fires are put out. After all, I feel great. What’s the big deal?


I’ll get to it…


Well, I didn’t and boy was that a screw up. I can see now in painful hindsight that staying consistent with medicines and supplements is really key. Sure I was feeling good. I’d finally found a system that was working and I threw it off by not keeping it up. What’s the big deal?


I had 2 weeks of drama I didn’t need and could’ve prevented. I was like a tricycle with a loose wheel that was falling off and I crashed and fell into a ditch. My metabolism was off and I was loosing it. I got upset so easily, I was turning into a weepy nutcase. I know when I’m yelling at traffic that I’m tense and I need to get more sleep. Get a grip and relax.


This felt different. My thyroid was off because I stopped taking that medicine and I even had one day left to fill my insulin. That’s a life sustaining drug for heavens sake! I had to pay retail since I have a Health Savings Account (HSA) that price alone could give you a stroke. I could only get one months worth, instead of getting 3 months worth with the cheaper mail in pharmacy because I had no time to play ‘Let’s Make A Deal’ I was in survival mode.


I don’t need that self imposed stress. Egads I did it to myself for heavens sake. Yes, I know I’m busy but I loose time when I send myself into a tizzy because what needed to be ordered didn’t happen and I didn’t take care of me first. My poor husband had to deal with a mess of a wife who would loose it if he looked at me sideways. Thank heavens the compound pharmacy delivers and my hormones could gets refilled quickly. Then he would’ve been dealing with a post menopausal lunatic and that wouldn’t have been pretty.


So what’s the life lesson for me? To go back to setting up an automatic schedule to refill my med’s with my new insurance, like I had last year. Set up appointments with the nutritionist to keep the supplements going to reduce my needed medications and have a structure to get what I need before I absolutely need them so I am on target to keep me steady and feeling great.


Don’t underestimate that when you feel good you’ll stay that way. Keep doing what works, so you stay that way. Find new solutions if we need them and keep up what works so you’re in tip top form. I went from great to mess and it didn’t take long. OK, got it.


Ever do that to yourself? How do you keep on track with with your meds with all you have to do?





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page