top of page

Blogs are about real life

When diabetes goes well; all goes well. When it doesn't; it doesn't...

  • Writer's pictureMaggie Hunts

Holy, Holy is right!


“Holy, Holy” are the first 2 words sung by Aretha Franklin in the recently released Amazing Grace movie. It‘s a filming of her live recording, which is the best selling gospel album of all time and I completely get it.


Aretha Franklin opens her mouth and sings just 2 sacred words and I was a flooded with tingles throughout my entire body, I was with God.


Aretha was so smart. Of course sing the gospel album live. The painting of Jesus was above her, the choir was behind her, the church audience is in front of her cheering her on and her Reverend brother and father were beside her. Aretha holds court and celebrates the Holy Spirit as she expresses her faith and belts out love. As a movie goer, I am so grateful, I got to be part of her sharing her up-bringing and it was like I got to be in the audience. We’re in good company, Mick Jagger was there the second night of this 2 night recording session.


Mick Jagger Felt Her Soul!

We all get to be inspired. You can see the young Aretha Franklin and see her love for God, her father and brother. She lets in her feelings and let’s them fly. Her power and God given talents are on display and our job is to let her in.


If she can do it, we can do it. I’m not saying we can all sing and belt like the Queen of Soul. In this filming, you can see her gratitude for her success and that was not something that was predictable, it wasn’t. Let’s all use our gifts and talents and follow our passions and let them fly. I went to this film to be inspired and it worked! I feel united with the world and we all get to feel hope, love, unity and faith. Enjoy this great music!

Being in a rocking black church is clearly a gift from God. I took my son with me once and it was glorious! We danced and felt so self-expressed. OK, he may have been a tad embarrassed sitting next to his Mom who was obviously loving every minute of it. I loved hopping up and letting in the spirit of God. Jews are quieter and this letting go and celebration of Holy Spirit is definitely a magnificent and sacred gift.


Holy, Holy are divine words never more true then when sung by the sensational Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin. Give your heart a treat and enjoy this magnificent talent. I have her album on my phone so I can be uplifted anytime I want. You can too...

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page