top of page

Blogs are about real life

When diabetes goes well; all goes well. When it doesn't; it doesn't...

  • Writer's pictureMaggie Hunts

Low Carb Food is Delicious!


While everyone else debates the best way to get nutrition, I’m eating!! I’m NOT waiting for medical authorities to decide the optimal meal plan for people with diabetes. I’m eating while balancing my blood sugar AND it’s delicious!!


I know there are a billion opinions on how people with diabetes should eat Well, I have diabetes and I’ve read it all a billion times. Sometimes I wonder if the authors actually test their blood sugar afterwards and see what that meal of carbs did to their sugar levels. Mine unfortunately goes crazy high.


I’ve had type 1 diabetes for over 30 years and I’m so clear that every time I eat grain, my sugar goes flying! I don’t need a medical person to finally figure that out, my blood glucose tester told me that years ago.


Believe me, I tried to perfectly match my insulin to my carb intake but I would start craving and wanting more every time I even tasted bread, any baked good or really anything sweet. Darn it!!


The truth was hard for this pizza snob and bagel lover to finally admit. But I couldn’t deny my fingers being swollen from inflammation or how my fantasies grow every time I let myself indulge by eating flour. It’s STILL a very slippery slope into weight gain and high blood sugar. Just thinking about this makes me crazy!! Yesterday, I discovered a vending machine that sells individual ice cream pops. Not buying a whole box will no longer save me, AHHHH! Now I can’t even go near there, so I’m not torturing myself.


I know what to eat is a big issue for everyone. Yes eggs. NO eggs. Then only if the chickens ran freely around the barnyard and didn’t finish eating tons of grain or were ever fed hormones before they were hatched. Yes, I did watch the price of eggs climb but I’m grateful to be even able to buy organic pasture raised eggs!


Everyone agreed sugar was evil but finally they added fake chemical sugar to the poison pile. It was only a matter of time before Nutri-sweet was going to be labeled the chemical it always was. It makes sense to eat what grows and not what’s formulated in the lab.


I am still not happy I have to cook it. Occasionally I see wild-seafood or grass-fed meat in a resturant and that’s reason to celebrate!! I cook because I like the food I make better. I can control what goes in it and make sure it’s organic. I’m allergic to garlic and unfortunately onions make me nauseous. We all have something it’s best to avoid to feel good and those are mine. When I cook, I adjust the recipe to fit my dietary needs and you can too.


I’ll help you. I just look in the frig and then my mind puts things together. I never thought of myself as cook. Eater yes, cook no. But I am amazed how good my food tastes and my friends are too. I think we’re all shocked!


I HAD to do something to regulate my sugar and it was darn near impossible for me to keep my sugar steady and lower my 3 month average or A1c blood sugar test. Now that I eat way fewer carbs, I have more leeway when I take insulin half way through the meal or even after eating.


No, that’s not the best idea. But I had to stop denying what I was, and I wasn’t, going to do and make it work for my life and my body.


I’m choosing food over pharmaceuticals. A healthy lifestyle does cost money but I’d rather spend my money on food than on drugs. My body knows how to process food. God knows what’s happening to our bodies taking all those over the counter and prescription drugs. I believe we end up paying for it later. And not with money, but with our lives.


PORTOBELLO EGG SANDWICH

(makes 1 - 2 meals)

2 portobello mushrooms

1 large zucchini

Applegate’s frozen pasture raised chicken and sage sausage

Organic walnuts and pumpkin seeds

2 pasture raised organic eggs

Salt, pepper and turmeric to taste

Coconut or olive oil for the pan, grass-fed butter to taste


Add olive oil to your pan and grill the sausage links till all sides are browned and crispy. I put the cover on it to speed things up. Then cook the veggies that take the longest, so add in the portobello mushrooms and more olive oil if needed.


Ground pink Himalayan sea salt, turmeric and pepper (which helps your body absorb the turmeric) over the portobellos and put the lid on the pan. Keep an eye on them while you dice your zucchini and cooked sausage and then slice your avocado.


When portobellos’s are soft and almost done, add the diced zucchini and season with more salt, turmeric and pepper. Remove from the heat when both are done. If the zucchini finishes first, as happened with me today, then take them out of the pan first while the portobellos finish. When pan is empty, toast the organic walnuts and pumpkin seeds to add crunch. Watch them so they don’t burn and set aside.



Then make your plate gorgeous!! Put your portobello mushroom on the plate, with the skin down and the cup part up. Then mix together your roasted nuts and seeds with the grilled chicken and sage sausage, zucchini and pile onto your mushrooms. Add a sliced fresh organic avocado on top and finish it off with an over easy egg. A wet egg yolk is so good for your brain and it adds moisture to where you’ll be moaning as you devour this plate of food.


If oil upsets your stomach, follow the meal with a protein and coconut almond milk shake that is delicious. Add Sweet Leaf vanilla cream liquid stevia and you’ll be so happy. Your taste buds are delighted, your body is relieved and your blood sugar does not go rising up now or later. Take medicine as needed to keep your blood sugar level. Be sure and adjust the recipe as your body needs. Less fat, protein or add onions and garlic if you want. It’s yours to play with and enjoy!

14 views0 comments
bottom of page